Me And The Brookland Dodgers…by Momma Gouche

For a person who never missed the World Series in her younger days, and even was allowed to take her television to the office, I had to ask someone who won the Series. Gouche has got me so hung up on reporting hockey that I have little time to think on my own. I am still waiting for the Dodgers to return to Brookland, but I guess my dream is futile. I did not see or hear one baseball game this year. As I travelled to my summer home in Manitoba back then the radio was always tuned to the baseball and the voices of Tom Cheek and Gerry Howarth. Tom cheek passed away in 2005 and I met Howarth a few years later. We reminisced about the good old days and Tom. I played semi pro baseball with a team called the St.Vital Tigerettes and at 5′ 2″ and one hundred pounds I could hit a pretty mean home run. I was called Sure Shot Shirl. So tell someone who cares!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

