The Jets and I…by Momma Gouche

As I sat in my lofty observation box on Wednesday night, when the Winnipeg Jets came to town to challenge the Toronto Maple Leafs, I was overwhelmed with the volume of the cheers from 19,000 fans, (a few being Jet supporters) I had already predicted a 3-2 win for the Jets and I was confident the score would come within that range. The Jets were first to get on the score board with a goal by Tobias Enstrom, but the Leafs’ Joffrey Lupul tied it up by the end of the first. Alexander Burmistrov and Mark Scheifele scored for the jets in the second, and the Winnipeg Jets were up 3-1. The Toronto fans began to boo the Leafs’ performance. I was prepared to afford the Leaf one more goal, as that would meet my prediction. Then the ugly words, penalties, appeared on the scene for the Jets, and two quick goals by Jeffrey Lupul (his second) and Phil Kessel tied the game, The 3-3 score prevailed through the game. I had thought that Dustin Byfuglien and Nik Antropov would be the first to challenge J. Reimer, but Wellwood and Burmistrov failed to beat Toronto’s goalie. Lupul and Matt Frattin tallied for the leafs to give Toronto the win. The media and I agreed that the jets had out-played the leafs, but the final score board tells the tale.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

