Yanks’ Posada ends long homerun drought

It’s been a tough season for New York Yankees’ slugger, Jorge Posada, who has seen his role severely diminish with the ball club. Posada, who is now 39,  has gone from being an all-star catcher, with a lethal bat, to being a part time struggling DH. On Wednesday afternoon, against the Cincinnati Reds, Posada proved that he does indeed have something left as he ended a long homerun drought. Showing a flare for the dramatics Posada hit a long tie breaking two run shot off of Mike Leake for his first dinger in 126 at bats. “I don’t know when’s the last time I hit one, but I wasn’t trying to hit one,” Posada said. “They happen for me. I don’t care when they do happen. I’m happy they are, but I’m not going out trying to hit a home run.” With what was a 4-2 win the Yankees have now won four in a row and 10 of their past 12 games. Meanwhile, Posada, who is still a Yankees’ fan favourite, has seen his average improve rapidly from .165 to .227 as a result of a nine game hitting streak. “I don’t know when’s the last time I hit one, but I wasn’t trying to hit one,” Posada said. “They happen for me. I don’t care when they do happen. I’m happy they are, but I’m not going out trying to hit a home run.” Yanks’, Freddie Garcia, who allowed only two unearned runs in seven innings, got the win, to even his record to 6-6  on the season. During interleague Garcia has strung together an impressive 22-10 record, which includes 4-0 against the Reds. Also continuing his stellar play in interleague was pitcher Mariano Riveria, who picked up the save and now has recorded a record 66 saves in interleague play.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

