Pens’ Cooke remorseful after hit on McDonagh

Only time will tell if Pittsburgh Penguins’ agitator, Matt Cooke, will … in fact … change his ways on the ice. Cooke, who has scored 12 goals and 30 points this season, was sentenced on Monday to a stiff suspension that will see the left winger sit out the remainder of the season, along with the opening round of the Stanley Cup play-offs. Cooke, who has been suspended five times in his career, received this harsh penalty for delivering a stiff elbow to the jaw of New York Rangers’ defenceman, Ryan McDonagh, during what was a 5-2 Rangers victory. Since becoming a Penguin in 2008 Cooke has been suspended four times, including four games last month, for hitting Columbus Blue Jackets’, Fedor Tyutin …from behind … into the boards. Cooke, who made headlines last March for a dirty hit on Boston Bruins’ forward, Marc Savard, displayed strong regret for his headshot on McDonagh. “I made a mistake. I’m the one that’s accountable for that,” said Cooke, who will forfit $219,512.20. “I’m sorry to my teammates, my management, my coaching staff and my organization. It’s something that … moving forward …I’ll make different.” League disciplinarian, Colin Campbell, explained that he gave Cooke a harsh punishment due to him being a repeat offender, and because he targetted McDonagh’s head. Penguins’ GM, Ray Shero, had no problems with the severe punishment his left forward received from the league. Cooke sounded like a man who has finally seen the errors of his ways. “I’m fortunate that Ryan McDonagh wasn’t hurt,” Cooke said. ” I don’t want to hurt anybody. That’s not my intention. I know that I can be better.”
.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

