Twins’ Morneau back at first base

Tuesday marked a huge breakthrough for Justin Morneau who saw his first game action since getting concussed last July against the Toronto Blue Jays. Morneau, who was the 2006 MVP, was having a typical all-star campaign last year in hititng .345 with 18 homeruns and 56 RBI’s, when he was accidently injured while trying to break-up a double play in Toronto. A day before playing Morneau received clearance from his doctor following an in depth examination. “I’m not more at risk than anybody else with a fastball to the head, or anything else, Morneau said. That was kind of what I needed to hear.” In his first game back Morneau, who was going up against the Pittsburgh Pirates in a spring training “B” game, hit a three run double in his second at bat. Still the veteran is being very cautious about not getting too excited. “When I see myself in the lineup on April 1, I think that will be when I’m 100 percent,” he said. “I just don’t want to get totally excited. It’s great to be out there .. don’t get me wrong, but I’ve been through some setbacks along the way.”

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

