Emery clears waivers and is now a Duck

Ray Emery now has to play the waiting game before he begins his climb back to the NHL with the Anaheim Ducks. Emery, who is only 28 years-old, joined his third NHL team on Monday when he agreed to a two way deal which will pay him $500,000 for the NHL and $105,000 for the minors. After clearing waivers on Tuesday Emery and the team must now wait for his immigration papers to come through. “Anaheim was interested and I’m really excited it worked out. I get a chance to start up again,” said Emery, who has played for the Ottawa Senators and the Philadelphia Flyers. “I’ll get a feel for things in the first few days of practice as to where I’m at, or how far off I am from really being able to compete in a game.” For now, Emery, who has an 87-51-15 career record, will be playing for the Ducks’ AHL team in Syracuse. Emery, who also played a year in the KHL, is attempting a comeback from a major hip injury, which required surgery last April, followed by a major rehab stint. “I’ve been lucky,” Emery said. “It has been long, but I haven’t had any crazy setbacks. It’s been really gradual but consistently moving forward. Maybe a few things took longer than I thought, but all in all I’ve been lucky. My body responded well to it. Everything came as it should.”

an 87-51-15 career record w

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

