Chara Flexes Muscles at NHL Hardest Shot Competition

Shea Weber made him sweat, but at the end it was Boston Bruins hulking defenceman, Zdeno Chara, who once again won the NHL hardest shot competition at the 2011 NHL Skills Competition.
Chara, who has won for the past two years, experienced a big scare when Weber, who plays for the Nashville Predators, took the early lead in the competition. Going head to head in round one Weber, who is also a defenceman, out blasted Chara 104.8 mph to 104.1 mph. When it came down to an all important, winner takes all shot, Chara, who has 10 goals on the season, got the RBC Center crowd in a frenzy after connecting on the winning shot, which travelled at 105.9 mph. After being outgunned by Weber in the first round Chara didn’t realize that he was still in the contest, which made things even sweeter for him. “I wasn’t exactly sure what the rules were,” Chara said. “I knew there was some kind of final or something, then I realized, ‘OK I have one more shot.’ I tried to do my best and it did happen, so I was glad.” Meanwhile Weber, who has nine goals on the season, thought that maybe Chara was perhaps pacing himself all along. “I thought he was saving something,” Weber said. “Maybe I was trying a little too hard. I think in the first round I just shot the puck and then I was really trying to put something into it after that.” In the finals when it really counted Weber’s hardest shot was 103.4 mph.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

