Nabokov is not reporting to the Island

Despite knowing the consequences veteran goaltender, Evgeni Nabokov, didn’t report on Sunday to the New York Islanders. Nabokov, who has won 293 games over a ten year span with the San Jose Sharks, was picked up off of waivers after deciding he wanted to resume his NHL career, after playing this year overseas in the KHL. At first the Detroit Red Wings signed Nabokov, but had to have him clear waivers before becoming a Red Wing. Something that didn’t happen, as the Islanders picked him up for insurance. For now Nabokov is staying home in San Jose to think about what he wants to do. “It’s just that I’m at the point in my career where I want to help a team win in the playoffs,” said Nabokov, who won 44 games for the Sharks last year. I don’t see how I could help the Islanders or what I could do for them. It doesn’t make a lot of sense to me. And I hope they understand that.” The Islanders, who are 18 points out of a playoff spot, can either suspend Nabokov or put him back on waivers. “I don’t know what’s going to happen,” said Nabokov. “I just hope they will understand where I’m coming from. That’s all.” He went on to say that he was very shocked that the Islanders picked him up and was left wondering why. “Detroit was willing to wait while I got ready. With the Islanders, if I went there, I would need a week or two to get ready, and then the season would almost be over.”

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

