Spezza Sidelined with Shoulder Injury

The uphill battle for a playoff spot just became that much harder for the Ottawa Senators who lost scoring forward Jason Spezza with a shoulder injury. Ottawa, who are currently four points behind the Boston Bruins for that final playoff spot will be without Spezza for the second time due to injury this season. Spezza, who missed some time last month with a groin injury is a major part of Ottawa’s offence as seen by his nine goals and 20 points this season. This second injury, which came in a 3-1 win against the Pittsburgh Penguins on Sunday night-time is deemed to be more serious than the groin was. The injury occurred when Spezza was taken forcefully into the boards by Pittsburgh Penguins defenceman Kris Letang. “We’ll just take it day by day and see but it’s not going to be any time soon,” Spezza said about his return. “I knew something was wrong. The shoulder didn’t feel good and I just knew when I got off the ice that something was pretty bad.” Spezza who is a former 2001 Senators first round draft pick said. “He doesn’t have to push me there,” Spezza said about Letang. “My back is to him the whole time, I’m going for the puck. I think he even realized that he pushed me and he tried to catch me, I think.” “It is what it is and it happens. The league will look at it I’m sure.”

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

