Hockey Hall of Fame

The Hockey Hall of Fame inductions for 2010 will be remembered well past our lifetime for the year that the election committee finally broke tradition and elected — the elite of elitest — in women’s hockey. For years the arguments have been made about whether females should be elected, and on Monday night it finally happened, as Angela James, who represented Team Canada, and rival, Cammi Granato, of Team USA, were officially enshrined. “Both Angela and Cammi are inspirational — they’re pioneers once again,” NHL Commissioner, Gary Bettman, said. “What they’ve done to this game has been terrific and I think they’re great role models for other girls and women looking to devote themselves to the game.” Granato, who is the sister of former NHL forward, Tony Granato, enjoyed a huge moment in 1998, when women’s hockey made it’s Olympic debut. During those games Granato led the States to a gold medal. Despite a huge growth in women’s hockey, Granato, who is married to former NHLer, Ray Ferraro, is always finding that women’s hockey is not taken as seriously as men’s hockey and that they are always feeling like they must defend their game. “We’re used to defending ourselves,” Granato said. “I had to defend myself from the time I was in a rink when I was a little kid, and people wondered — why is she playing? We just have to keep repeating ourselves — over and over. But this helps. I tell you — being here — having this committee and this Hall accept us — really helps.” Also elected was 608 goal scorer, Dino Ciccarelli, who — incredibly enough — was never drafted after breaking his leg in his final year of junior hockey. The only regret that Ciccarelli had was never winning the Stanley Cup. The closest he came was in 1995, when his Detroit Red Wings lost in the finals to the New Jersey Devils. On Sunday night, while eating dinner with some other NHLers, he received a surprise, as the Stanley Cup found it’s way to the outing. “They surpised our party and they brought the Stanley Cup over,” said Ciccarelli, who in his career, played for the Minnesota North Stars, Washington Capitals, Red Wings, Tampa Bay Lightning and the Florida Panthers. “We were taking a group picture with all the guys, and I still feel like I can’t touch it because I didn’t win it. But Glenn Anderson said, ‘Dino, grab that thing and put it over your head.’ We were all holding on.” Also inducted were Jim Devellano and Daryl (Doc) Seaman, in the builders category.


Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s